“You gain power by pretending to be weak. By contrast, you make people feel strong. You save people by letting them save you.
All you have to do is be fragile and grateful. So stay the underdog.
People really need somebody they feel superior to. So stay downtrodden.
People need somebody they can send a check at Christmas. So stay poor.
“Charity” isn’t the right word, but it’s the first word that comes to mind”

“My father always said, “Get married before the sex gets boring or you’ll never get married.””

“You can find fresh pain every time you discover what you pretty much already know.”

Good thinking

“Deliver me from Swedish furniture.
Deliver me from clever art…
…May I never be complete.
May I never be content.
May I never be perfect.”

“More and more, it feels like I’m doing a really bad impersonation of myself.”

“No matter how much you think you love somebody, you’ll step back when the pool of their blood edges up too close”

“People don’t want their lives fixed. Nobody wants their problems solved. Their dramas. Their distractions. Their stories resolved. Their messes cleaned up. Because what would they have left? Just the big scary unknown.”

“Find out what you’re afraid of and go live there.”